Home > Research > Achievements
Home > Research > Achievements



In May, four EBE academics were short-listed as finalists for the 2013/2014 NSTF-BHP Billiton awards. The winners were announced at a gala dinner on 3 July 2014.


Congratulations to A/Professor Arnaud Malan from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, who    received the award in the category: Research leading to Innovation through a Corporate Organisation. The award is for the work Arnaud has done in Elemental Software and the establishment of a spin-off company, Elemental Technologies IP Holdings (Pty) Ltd.




The other three finalists were as follows:

 A/Professor Paul Barendse from the Department of Electrical Engineering was nominated in the category: For an outstanding contribution to Science, Engineering, Technology and Innovation: TW Kambule award for an Emerging Researcher.


Professor Kobus Van Zyl from the Department of Civil Engineering was nominated for the Aqualibrium Water Engineering Competition team in the category: Communication for outreach and creating awareness of Science, Engineering Technology and Innovation.






Professor Genevieve Langdon from the Department of Mechanical Engineering was nominated for a  T W Kambule NRF-NSTF Award, which is awarded to an individual for  outstanding contribution to SET through research and its outputs over the last 5 to 10 years and is sponsored by the NRF.




Distinguished Woman Scientist Award

Professor Sue Harrison of the Department of Chemical Engineering has netted the Distinguished Woman Scientist Award, announced at the Women in Science awards ceremony on 3 August.

The prize is one of various accolades created by the Department of Science and Technology to recognise women in science and their role in improving the economic status and quality of life of South Africans.

Young Scientist Best Presentation Award

Dr Randhir Rawatlal attended the 5th International Workshop on Heterogeneous Ziegler-Natta Catalysis in Japan and was awarded the Young Scientist Best Presentation Award. The award was made for fundamental contributions to age-distribution theory and their applications in polymerization reactors. The conference was organised by the Japanese Advanced Institute of Science and Technology in Kanazawa, and was attended by leading international researchers in the field.

National Science and Technology Forum Awards (NSTF)

Professor Pragasen Pillay is this year's winner in Category H of the National Science and Technology Forum awards: Senior Black Researcher (over the last five to ten years). Professor Pillay was also a finalist in Category G: Researcher for Research Capacity Development (over the last 5 - 10 Years).


NRF A1-Rating

Head of the Department of Civil Engineering, Professor George Ekama has received a National Research Foundation (NRF) A1-rating. 

Thrip Awards

Two researchers in UCT's Department of Electrical Engineering have won category awards in the recent innovation competition of the Technology and Human Resources for Industry Programme (THRIP).