Engineering a better world
Internationally recognised undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications address challenges of development in South Africa and the world.
Why choose UCT?
Our graduates are highly sought after for their technical skills and awareness of their social and environmental contexts.
Using research to tackle social challenges
Continuous research ensures the faculty makes its mark in the world and contributes to creating a better future.


Tuesday, 29 July 2014

2014 marks the twentieth year that Minquiz has been run in the Western Cape and this year saw many schools that have become regular participants as well as many newcomers. Schools entered a team of three learners in either the Gold or Platinum category, based on their schools average pass rate.

Minquiz is regarded as South Africa’s premier annual national Science competition for Grade 12 learners, and it aims to encourage interest in careers in Science, Engineering and Technology, especially in minerals and metallurgy, and to promote an awareness of the importance of minerals and metallurgy to South Africa.



Emeritus Professor Duncan Fraser passed away on Saturday 19 July 2014. Duncan has been a part of the Department of Chemical Engineering since 1979 and will be deeply missed by his colleagues and students.


Welcome to the two new postdocs fellows who recently joined  CoMSIRU in the Department of Civil Engineering.




Staff members in the Concrete Materials & Structural Integrity Research Unit (CoMSIRU) have been extremely busy over the past 12 months. They have graduated 21 postgraduate students and supervised 25 final-year undergraduate thesis projects.